About Us

The Drama Club


Little Gaddesden Drama Club (LGDC) was founded in 1947. It began by putting on plays on a make-shift stage in the old school hall before moving to the village hall in 1958. We generally put on two productions each year, usually in January and May/June plus one-off special evenings.

Membership is open to both adults and children from both inside and outside the village. Most of the actors and technical crew live in the village, have lived here in the past or have some association with Little Gaddesden. This has encouraged a community spirit in the club and is a very important element in its success. The club is very much a part of our local community. This encourages a loyal audience, the majority of which also live locally. However, it is significant that when people from outside the village and its environs attend productions, they always comment on the warm welcome they receive and find that going to the village hall is a rewarding overall experience, particularly when the audience is seated at tables, a feature of our productions past and present. The happy consequence of this is that people come back again and again.

The Village Hall

Built and rebuilt over the years, the village hall has always been the focal point of Little Gaddesden. Seating about 100 people, whether in traditional rows or with table seating, the hall provides a warm and inviting atmosphere for performances of all types.


How to Find Us

Address: Little Gaddesden Village Hall, Church Road, Little Gaddesden, Berkhamsted HP4 1NX
(Church Road is off Nettleden Road, opposite the white gates to Ashridge College, at the north end of Little Gaddesden village green.)

Sat Nav: Postcode: HP4 1NX Lat/Long: 51°48’41.2″N 0°33’36.4″W (51.811439, -0.560120)

Locators: Plus code: RC6Q+HX Little Gaddesden, Berkhamsted What3Words: ///relished.intrigued.overheard


The Committee

The committee is appointed on an annual basis to look after the affairs of the club. The business of the club is conducted through an elected committee which consists of five officers – Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer and Technical Officer – and ordinary members as follows:

  • Chairman – Andrew Sheard
  • Vice-Chairman – Nan Newberry
  • Secretary – Lyn Hyde
  • Treasurer – Diana Ball
  • Technical Officer – Michael Carver
  • Ordinary members – Jackie Tannett, Shaun McCarthy, Benjamin Dawson and Patrick Isherwood

If you are interested in joining the committee please contact us on info@LGDramaClub.com


The Gaddesden Society Logo  Affiliated with The Gaddesden Society.

Find us on Drama Groups. Drama Groups logo

We list on WhereCanWeGo, Britain’s What’s On Event Guide Where Can We Go logo